Pay attention to where you are going

This is a fairly short post about something very specific: Pushing or bumping into allies.

Recently I had a game where one of my allies obviously was a newbie, and did not pay enough attention to where he was going. I was playing with my T67 on El Halluf. When playing the T67 at this map, I prefer to go to one of the ridge lines and wait to see where my team mates are going, while I spot for scout tanks. (Later on on this map, I will move to support my team and/or flank enemies.

So I positioned myself, and waited for my binoculars to kick in. Just when they did, an ally started pushing me over the ridge line. I don’t think he did it on purpose, but nevertheless. I had to move. So I went to a different position, and started spotting and waiting again. Less than a minute later, the same ally came to where I was and did the same again! I guess he drove his tank in sniper mode, not paying attention to the mini map.

But he must have heard the sound from the collision, and he must have noticed that his progress halted, as he slowly pushed me over the ridge line again.

So, what is the lesson to be learned from  this? My ally probably didn’t learn anything, but the advice from me is: Do not push or bump into your allies. If they are aiming for an enemy and you bump into them, and your ally will either miss his target or will have to aim again. In any case: Any such behavior will reduce the efficiency of your team, and this will in the long run reduce the win rate of your team, and – of course – your win rate.

You might ask “Why should I  care about how well my team mates are doing?” Simply because you will benefit from it. A win will increase your XP and your in game credits, remember?

Leave a comment